Memovie: Memories of A Favorite Movie 1

Chungking Express, 1994.

Aside from the realistic and honest plot, Chungking Express is both a romantic and comedy film. Chungking Express is one of my few favorite movies because I can relate with it. Moreover, the actors of the film are attractive. Let’s pick a quote from the movie (which I remember every now and then):

“If memories could be canned, would they also have expiry dates? If so, I hope they last for centuries…”

This is where He Zhiwu cried because of a can of pineapples waiting to be trashed because it met the expiration date unsold. He is a wounded soldier of love.

Here is another one:

“We’re all unlucky in love sometimes. When I am, I go jogging. The body loses water when you jog, so you have none left for tears.”

So don’t question anyone who is running all day long.

A friend of mine recommended Chungking Express while I’m settling with my failed heart a couple of years ago. But the magic of the movie never fades. It’s still beautiful even if you watch it for the nth time.  

Photo from: http://www.manillenials.com/12-romantic-movies-from-our-asian-neighbors/

Leave a Reply

