A Battle Everyone Should Win

She said,

“You aren’t good for anything,

“You suck in math

“You can’t comprehend the simplest maps

“You shout instead of sing

“You can’t play a violin

“You mess with your health

And to hell with your cooking.”

I looked at her,

Bowed my head

And closed my eyes.

“What do you boast about?”

She continued.

“That you write oh-so-well?

“Thousands are writers around the world

“And you don’t even match up to them.”

I clenched my fists.

“You aren’t worth anything,

she snapped,

“And when you die,

“No one will remember you for a long time.”

I punched the mirror and she stopped talking,

In the glass, my blood is still soaking.

Leave a Reply

